Unconditional

couple-heart

 

Do you remember our first date. A summer day right by the cool river, each of us dressed in an effort to impress the other out of our work clothes. A twinkle in your eyes that I had never seen before, a playful side. A story of how you were late because you had to find the right shoes, something I would have done as well. And milkshakes. I told you banana was my favourite flavour as well, but the truth was when I heard how excited you got, I couldn’t help but believe that it was the greatest flavour in the world.

 

Do you remember our first kiss. It was a beautiful day outside, but I was still huddled under a blanket on the couch. It was the first time I noticed the blue in your eyes. I’d never met someone whose eyes I could get lost in, without feeling like I was drowning. It was the first time I felt my heart skip a beat around you. It was the first time I realised you only shared the things you loved, such as a TV show, with those who you felt could appreciate it. It was the first time I realised how much I liked that you had so much to say, sometimes I couldn’t get a word in. And I loved it because I could hear your thoughts, how you felt about the world. It was the first time I realised how similar we were in our thoughts.

 

Do you remember the first time you told me that you loved me. We were sitting in the car, and it didn’t appear like anything special. But it was that day I realised there was nothing about you I didn’t like. Every quirk, just made me fall a tad bit more in love with you. Your jokes, your teasing. Every romantic idea, and the stern side as well. We had gone to Sylvan earlier in the day, and I realised then how lucky I was to have you. I pestered you to swim, take pictures; splashed you with water. And I realised that no matter what sides we hadn’t yet seen, I knew I wanted to learn every curve and edge of your personality.

 

I love you is a phrase that is tossed around in this generation. One used to get pleasure from someone. Gifts. What they don’t realise is the emotional attachment to the person. Is that when you say those words, its not something that can be turned on and off. It’s something that’s always there. It’s there when it’s two in the morning and one of you is having an anxiety attack. It’s there when you’re driving in the car on a cold night and the music and heat is blasting. It’s there when one of you is upset and yelling over something that matters to them. It’s there in all of the ‘drive safe’s’ and kisses given just before the drive home. It’s there in every season, every serious phone call. It’s always there.

 

And I hope one day you’ll come to realise. It will always be there with you. Because with you, every interrupted sentence, is a thought you needed to tell me. Every late coming, is because you were trying so hard to make the date perfect. Every misspoken word was because you cared so damn much you wanted to help me see that as well. In every insecurity, come to my side of the fence. I know you’re flawed but you’re perfect to me. And this kind of love is here to last.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *